Thursday, June 2, 2011

Novena to the Holy Spirit for the Seven Gifts

This begins on Friday after Ascension Thursday the 6th Week of Easter (tomorrow!).

The novena in honor of the Holy Spirit is the oldest of all novenas since it was first made at the direction of Our Lord Himself when He sent His apostles back to Jerusalem to await the coming of the Holy Spirit on the first Pentecost. It is still the only novena officially prescribed by the Church. Addressed to the Third Person of the Blessed Trinity, it is a powerful plea for the light and strength and love so sorely needed by every Christian.

Introduction: includes the Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit and the Prayer for the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit  (recited daily during the Novena)
 First Day: Friday
Second Day: Saturday
Third Day: Sunday
Fourth Day: Monday
Fifth Day: Tuesday
Sixth Day: Wednesday
Seventh Day:Thursday
Eighth Day: Friday
Ninth Day: Saturday (Vigil of Pentecost)

No comments:

Post a Comment